Photographer's Note

This is one of the oldest monasteries in the Fruska Gora Monasteries group: the first trustful written resorce with the mention of the Monastery dates from 1451.
Church that exists nowdays was built in 1575/76. with the financial donations of the group of wealthy citizens, especially Lacko and Marko Jovsic, citizens of Kovin. The data concerning the church that precedes this one is insufficient.
The existing church represents one of the biggest and one of the architectonically most valuable sacral buildings of it's time.
It's architectonical structure represents a unique mixture of traditional serbian architecture and elements of the vlas artistic area, and some elements of the certain expiriences of the islamic building school. The Novo Hopovo church made an strong influence on later builders of Fruska Gora monasteries.
Next to the church during 1751/58., a massive bell house with a small chapell on thge first floor was built. At those times the whole monastery complex suffered changes in terms of the baroque spirit of the time.
The Monastery doss buildings were built during the period of 1728. and 1771., when the church was surrounded by buildings from all sides.
The walls of the church were painted both in 1604. and 1654. by two different groups of masters.
In second half of XVIII century the old iconstasis was replaced with hight alter baffle carpented by Paul and Anton Rezner. Icons on this iconstasis were painted in 1776. by Teodor Kracun.
In World War II, the monastery was tore down, the iconstasis was disassembled and damaged and movable inventory stolen.
Reconstruction of the church is being done since 1949.

bracasha75, zhelach marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
Viewed: 1793
Points: 4
Additional Photos by Slavica Novakovic (SlavicaN) Silver Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 31 W: 0 N: 162] (568)
View More Pictures