Fotos

Photographer's Note

The area around the old mining town of Silverton, in the desert west of Broken Hill, are scattered ruins of stone cottages left over from the town's brief boom. The town was established in 1880 but people started leaving for the larger mines of Broken Hill from as early as 1885. The town was removed from the register of towns in 1899.
This particular cottage has impressive red brick detail around doors and windows but all that remains are the walls and long forgotten dreams.

mirosu, ChrisJ marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
Viewed: 1486
Points: 8
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ian Fegent (ifege) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1985 W: 82 N: 6267] (28339)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH