Fotos

Photographer's Note

This is a photo of the capitol building in colonial Williamsburg.

This is the first American structure with the word "Capitol" applied to it. This is the third building on this site. It is was recontructed off of the plans of the original contractor Henry Clay. It was rebuilt in the 1920's to look like the Capitol of 1705 - 1747.

The building that was here before had the west wing sold for its bricks and demolished in 1793 and the east wing burned in 1832.

The wing on the left was the general courtroom and colony's secretary and the right wing was the House of Bugresess and its cleck.

The Capitol sits at the east end of Duke of Gloucester street and was used as capitol from 1705 - 1779. Then the capitol of Virginia was moved to Richmond were it still is today.

jmdias marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
Viewed: 1435
Points: 1
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Tony Budnick (Tbud) Silver Star Critiquer [C: 15 W: 0 N: 2] (25)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH