Fotos

Photographer's Note

Throughout its history Óbidos was dominated by Romans, Visigoths and Arabs, was recaptured in 1148. This Portuguese villa was the resting place of kings and queens, and is a clear example of a fortified city reminiscent Mozarabic, Romanesque and Gothic. By exploring the old town of Óbidos, we can contemplate its nice cobbled streets with picturesque white houses and red roofs, decorated with bougainvillea, sheltered by the imposing wall around them, carrying passengers through centuries of history.

Óbidos history dates back to Roman times, where a settlement nestled in the valley near the modern town would have been Eburobrittium. Then, during the V century after the fall of the Romans, the city is moved to the hill where he is currently located, as it was considered better place for your safety. Hence the name of Óbidos, oppidum derived from Latin and means "fortified town. " However, it was the Moors who occupied and fortified the town, building walls around the year 713.

In 1148, the city was reconquered by Alfonso I, first king of Portugal, completing the process of reconquest of the kingdom. In 1210, Alfonso II gives her this villa to his wife, Dona Urraca of Burgundy, thus becoming one that is repeated until the nineteenth century, to that of many sovereign received as gorgeous as a wedding villa in Óbidos why also known as the "Village Queens. "

Among its many attractions we know Óbidos Castle, now converted into lodging. It is a magnificent medieval fortress built on the foundation of a building and remodeling moro Manueline style. La Puerta de la Villa is the main entrance to the medieval village, Puerta del Valle or Lady of Grace that is another door to enter. Church of St. Mary, St. Peter's Church, Church of San Juan Bautista, San Martin Church, the Church of Mercy, Church of Santiago.


------------------------------------------


A lo largo de su historia Óbidos fue dominada por romanos, visigodos y árabes, siendo reconquistada en 1148. Esta villa portuguesa fue lugar de descanso de reyes y reinas, y constituye un claro ejemplo de ciudad fortificada con reminiscencias mozárabes, románicas y góticas. Al recorrer el casco antiguo de Óbidos, podremos contemplar sus simpáticas callecitas adoquinadas, con pintorescas casitas blancas y tejados rojos, adornadas de buganvillas, resguardadas por la imponente muralla que las rodea, transportando a los viajeros a través de siglos de historia.

La historia de Óbidos se remonta a la época romana, donde un asentamiento ubicado en el valle en las proximidades del pueblo actual habría sido Eburobrittium. Luego, durante el siglo V tras la caída de los romanos, la ciudad es trasladada a la colina donde se halla emplazada actualmente, ya que se consideraba mejor lugar para su seguridad. De ahí el nombre de Óbidos que deriva del latín oppidum y significa “ciudad fortificada”. Sin embargo, fueron los moros quienes ocuparon y fortificaron el pueblo, construyendo murallas a su alrededor en el año 713.

En 1148, la ciudad es reconquistada por Alfonso I, primer rey de Portugal, culminando así el proceso de reconquista de ese reino. En 1210, Alfonso II le regala esta villa a su esposa, doña Urraca de Borgoña, convirtiéndose así en una que se repitió hasta el siglo XIX, para dicha de muchas soberanas que recibían tan primorosa villa como regalo de bodas, en por ello que Óbidos también es conocida como la “Villa de las Reinas”.

Entre sus varios atractivos podremos conocer el Castillo de Óbidos, actualmente convertido en posada. Es una soberbia fortaleza medieval construida sobre la base de un edifico moro y con remodelaciones de estilo Manuelino. La Puerta de la Villa que es la entrada principal a la villa medieval, Puerta del Valle o Señora de la Gracia que es otra puerta para ingresar. Iglesia de Santa María, Iglesia de San Pedro, Iglesia de San Juan Bautista, Iglesia de San Martín, la Iglesia de la Misericordia, Iglesia de Santiago.

Photo Information
Viewed: 3448
Points: 80
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Luis Garcia (adramad) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 8217 W: 5 N: 14775] (65726)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH