Fotos

Photographer's Note

Its construction began in 1687 and was completed in 1723. Originally dedicated to the Child Jesus, in 1690 she received the name of Notre-Dame-de-la-Victoire in the wake of the retirement of English Admiral William Phips. In 1711 it was renamed again, under the title of Our Lady of Victories, after the dispersion of the British fleet commanded by Admiral Hovenden Walker.

On 9 August 1759 the church was destroyed in the British bombardment of Lower City that preceded the Battle of the Plains of Abraham. Jean Baillargé, master carpenter, restores the sacristy in 1762 and works in the following year to take up the church from its ruins. The reconstruction takes place over several years to reach completion in 1766. In 1816 a total reconstruction was entrusted to François Baillairgé.

On 11 July 1929, the church is a listed building by the Historic Monuments Commission where the granting of a statute providing for its protection. It is designated a national historic site by the Government of Canada January 1, 1988

Photo Information
Viewed: 1104
Points: 28
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Robert Labbe (poutpout) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 148 W: 0 N: 129] (3538)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH