Fotos

Photographer's Note

One room upstairs, one room downstairs; this is Bridge House which stands over Stock Beck in the middle of Ambleside.It is a 17th century survivor.
(Beck is an alternative name for a stream or small river.)
"The growth of old Ambleside is associated with a succession of families dating back to the early 14th century.The Braithwaites were an incredibly influential family and originally built Bridge House to access their lands on the other side of the Beck, and also to store apples from their orchards, which surrounded Bridge House.

A survivor! It has had many practical uses over the decades, a counting house,a tea room, a weaving shop, a cobblers, a chair makers, and at one time, a home to eight people!
In the 1920's residents of Ambleside recognised that Bridge House was in need of repair and began fundraising.By the end of the project, a grand total of £1244 10 shillings and 10 pence had been spent securing its future."
(National Trust information page re. Bridge House)

Now owned by the National Trust, visitors can enter free of charge.

A grey day in Ambleside!

jhm, snunney, tyro, Periko, adores, mayjayne, ikeharel marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
Viewed: 11074
Points: 32
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Jean Dwyer (jean113) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 1660 W: 0 N: 5530] (21261)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH