Photographer's Note

This series of photographs is offering a short journey around Switzerland, a landlocked country geographically divided between the Alps, the Swiss Plateau and the Jura, bordering with France, Germany, Austria, Liechtenstein and Italy.
Switzerland (the Swiss Confederation) consists of following 20 cantons (states) and 6 half-cantons: Aargau, Appenzell Ausserhoden*, Appenzell Innerhoden*, Basel Landschaft*, Basel Stadt*, Bern, Fribourg, Geneva, Glarus, Graubünden, Jura, Lucerne, Neuchatel, Nidwalden*, Obwalden*, Schaffhausen, Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen, Thurgau, Ticino, Uri, Valais, Vaud, Zug and Zurich (*=half-canton).
From each canton I’ll post 2 photos and from each half-canton 1 photo, total 46 photographs.

Basel Stadt

The historic Canton of Basel was divided in 1833. The result of this division was creation of two half cantons: Basel Stadt and Basel Landschaft.
The Canton Basel-Stadt lies in the north of Switzerland. It is located at the "knee' of River Rhine where the Rhine switches itself from flowing in a westerly direction to a northerly flow.
The canton Basel-Stadt borders canton Basel-Landschaft to the south, Germany (state of Baden-Wurtenberg) and France (région of Alsace) to the north.The capital city is Basel.

I have taken this photo in the Old Basel town, the little fountain at the angle of the Gemsberg street and Unterer Heuberg. old. In the background a typical old Basel house.

City of Basel is situated 85km west from Zurich and 250km northeast from Geneva.

jhm, ikeharel, bukitgolfb301, pierrefonds, baddori, danos, saxo042, daddo, ourania, kato marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
Viewed: 4603
Points: 52
  • None
Additional Photos by Miro Susta (mirosu) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 1572 W: 0 N: 3418] (16313)
View More Pictures