Photographer's Note

This series of photographs is offering a short journey around Switzerland, a landlocked country geographically divided between the Alps, the Swiss Plateau and the Jura, bordering with France, Germany, Austria, Liechtenstein and Italy.
Switzerland (the Swiss Confederation) consists of following 20 cantons (states) and 6 half-cantons: Aargau, Appenzell Ausserhoden*, Appenzell Innerhoden*, Basel Landschaft*, Basel Stadt*, Bern, Fribourg, Geneva, Glarus, Graubünden, Jura, Lucerne, Neuchatel, Nidwalden*, Obwalden*, Schaffhausen, Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen, Thurgau, Ticino, Uri, Valais, Vaud, Zug and Zurich (*=half-canton).
From each canton I’ll post 2 photos and from each half-canton 1 photo, total 46 photographs.

Basel Landschaft

The historic Canton of Basel was divided in 1833. The result of this division was creation of two half cantons: Basel Stadt and Basel Landschaft.

Canton Basel Landschaft lies in the north of Switzerland. The Jura Mountain chain traverse the canton. The canton Basel Landschaft shares borders with canton Basel Stadt, canton Solothurn, canton Jura, canton Aargau, France (région of Alsace) and Germany (state of Baden-Wurtenberg). The capital city is Liestal.

This photo shows a center of old Laufen town. In the background the Christian-Catholic Church of St. Katharina.
This church is listed as a Swiss heritage site of national significance. The entire old city of Laufen in part of the Inventory of Swiss Heritage Sites.

Laufen is situated around 20km southwest from City of Basel.

ikeharel, PaulVDV, baddori, adramad, bukitgolfb301, pierrefonds, clic marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
Viewed: 1254
Points: 26
  • None
Additional Photos by Miro Susta (mirosu) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 1572 W: 0 N: 3418] (16313)
View More Pictures