Fotos

Photographer's Note

Ima dana ("There will be days") restaurant in Skadarlija

The history of Skadarlija began in the 1830s with the settlement of Gypsies in the abandoned trenches in front of the ramparts. The 1854 town plan of Belgrade reveals that the Gypsy hovels had been replaced by brick buildings into which artisans, caterers, petty clerks and others moved. The whole locality was referred to as the Gypsy Quarter until 1872, when the street was named after the city of Shkodër (Serbian: Skadar), which was part of the Serbian medieval state (today in Albania). Skadarska ulica, Serbian for "Skadar street" is still the official name.
Skadarlija began to acquire its bohemian character in the last few decades of the 19th century and particularly after 1901, when the well-known Dardaneli inn was demolished and its guests, prominent writers and actors, moved to the Skadarlija inns. The best-known of these were Tri šešira (Three hats), Dva jelena ("Two deers"), Zlatni bokal (Golden chalice), Bandist, East, Guild, Vuk Karadžić, Two Sergeants. First three still survive today, accompanied by some new restaurants, like Ima dana ("There will be days"), Skadarlija (demolished in 2006), Dva bela goluba ("Two white doves"), etc.

Vasa, bakyy, Mondaychild, vasariste marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Slavica Novakovic (SlavicaN) Silver Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 31 W: 0 N: 162] (568)
  • Genre: Lugares
  • Medium: Cor
  • Date Taken: 2008-02-14
  • Categories: Arquitectura
  • Exposição: f/2.6, 1/100 segundos
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Versão da Foto: Versão Original
  • Date Submitted: 2008-02-19 16:26
Viewed: 2458
Points: 11
Discussions
Additional Photos by Slavica Novakovic (SlavicaN) Silver Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 31 W: 0 N: 162] (568)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH