Fotos

Photographer's Note

The Amoreira aqueduct connects the local Amoreira the town of Elvas. It has 843 arches with five arches and towers 30 feet high.
In 1498, the only source of drinking water, in the town of Elvas, was the "Well of Alcalá", near the door of the bishop, in the second Arab wall.
The matter was referred to the Courts of Evora. That same year, King D. Manuel authorized a tax that was called "Real of water" and that was to pay more one "real" in the cost of each pound of meat and fish and in each pint of wine, so that with this money if started the construction of the aqueduct.
Its construction took place from 1529 until the date of its inauguration (simultaneous with the Source of Mercy) on June 23, 1622.
Shaped and driven only by Portugueses (the architects of the Royal Household Francisco Arruda, Diogo Afonso Álvares and Marques) and erected only by elvenses, is a unique work of its kind in size, grandeur, beauty and elegance.
Its extension, from the source to the Source of Mercy, is 7,790 meters and the height at the points where the arches are superimposed on four floors, is 31 meters

Photo Information
Viewed: 4494
Points: 52
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Aires dos Santos (AiresSantos) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 6708 W: 209 N: 14053] (56155)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH