Fotos

Photographer's Note

The scenery for a movie shooting in Ksiezy Mlyn. Horses seen here a long time ago, on a daily basis is rather a lot of cars. Photo taken Oct. 25, 2015.That day was beautiful light and colors, so it will be a wonderful movie.

Ksiezy Mlyn (Priest's Mill) underwent a massive overhaul and is now open to the public. Ksiezy Mlyn was first mentioned in 1484 in reference to a mill built on the Jasien River in 1387. The original complex was burnt to the ground on May 9, 1822 . In 1854 the 28-year-old Belgian-German Karol Scheibler arrived in £ódz. Scheibler opened a modern factory and was soon leaving the competition behind. Here Scheibler built not only mills, but an entire gasworks to light his factories and the neighbouring workers’ houses too - the first private gasworks in the city. In 1875 Scheibler added several two-story houses for his workers and opened a school for their children. At the height of its existence in 1879, Lodz’s Ksiezy Mlyn included all of the above plus more residential buildings and a wall around the entire complex that was locked at night. In 1881 Karol Scheibler died. Ksiezy Mlyn continued to grow, with the opening of a hospital (again another first, this being the first factory hospital in Poland), and on June 20, 1884, Lodz’s first voluntary fire brigade unit was founded inside Scheibler’s factory.

Photo Information
Viewed: 15808
Points: 70
Discussions
Additional Photos by Piotr FG (PiotrF) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 5855 W: 2 N: 11734] (54572)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH