Fotos

Photographer's Note

The Devil's Bridge or Bridge of Roch ("stone" in Piedmontese) was built in 1378 with the purpose of connecting Lanzo Torinese and its valleys with Turin (around 30 km far from).
The Devil's Bridge was built with the consent of the deputy warden of Lanzo, Aresmino Provana of Leyni, who worked with Amedeo VI of Savoy (known as the Green Count).
In 1564 the Council of Lanzo ordered the construction of a gate on the bridge to prevent outsiders bring in Lanzo plague that had spread in Avigliana and surrounding areas.
The bridge, with a span of 37 meters, a height of 16, length of 65 and a minimum width of 2.27, built humpbacked, is situated in a narrow gorge with walls to precipice dug by the waters of the Stura in prehistoric times.
Nowaday there is a park, called "Devil's Bridge Park", a beautiful walk coasting the river Stura and climbing on the rocks up to a little church.

Photo Information
Viewed: 1034
Points: 22
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Camilla Tinti (CamCam) Silver Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 16 W: 0 N: 97] (515)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH