Fotos

Photographer's Note

The park of Monsters of Bomarzo was devised by the architect Pirro Ligorio (he completed the Cathedral of Saint Peter in Rome after the death of Michelangelo and built Villa d'Este in Tivoli) on commision of Prince Pier Francesco Orsini, called Vicino, only to vent the heart broken at the death of is wife Giulia Farnese
The park was born in 1552 as "Villa of Wonders" to be the only one of it's kind in the world.
... It's the head of Proteus, but also the head of Glaucus, the fisherman who became a Marine God after eating a magical herb.

Nobody marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
Viewed: 2550
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Francesco Mastrella (CeccoPhoto) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 537 W: 50 N: 377] (2717)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH