Fotos

Photographer's Note

The Town Hall

The atmosphere of the square is determined by the building of the Town Hall that has been functioning as a Town Hall since the 14th – 15th century up to the present. its present form was developed after 1597. It was continuously reconstructed until 1668. Meanwhile a gable was raised to heighten the building. On the façade of the building the first of the five paintings is the quadrilateral shaped baronial coat-of-arms of Miklós Jurisich, while in the middle there is Hungary’s historical small coat-of-arms. The third on the right is the coat-of-arms of Kőszeg, granted by Frederic III in 1446. It is still the official coat-of-arms of the town. The figural frescos among the coat-of-arms represent Hungary’s Our Lady with the child Jesus and King Stephen I, respectively. The classical gateway was made in the 19th century.

At the Town Hall, vine branches were presented to the mayor on St. George’s Day and the branches have been registered in the Book of Vine Branches since 1740. This unique book is still is use and it is kept in the local museum.

Kőszeg

The small town with nearly 12,000 residents, with sub-alpine climate, is situated at the foothills of the Alps. The settlement and its vicinity at the foot of the Kőszeg hills, in the valley of the brook Gyöngyös has been inhabited since the 6th-7th centuries. In the 14th century it was given the rank of free royal town. The castle built in the13th century was named after captain Miklós Jurisics, who managed to hold up the Turkish troops advancing towards Vienna in 1532 with the help of the inhabitants. Its guilds, trade, vine growing and wine making, schools have a long history. The mediaeval town centre was not affected by the historical events, so inside the one-time town walls, the remains of which can still be seen, the houses have been preserved in their original form in Jurisics square and in the neighbouring streets.
(Source-www.Koszeg.hu & hungary.com)

Photo Information
Viewed: 1658
Points: 52
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by George Rumpler (Budapestman) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 8900 W: 3 N: 20435] (82620)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH