Fotos

Photographer's Note

The antirio fortress belongs to municipality of antirio.
The municipality is tied up with Peloponnesus by Rio-Antirio bridge.
The narrows between the Gulf of Patras and the Gulf of Corinth are also called the Little Dardanelles. Here in 1500 Sultan Bayazet II built on both sides a fortress, which was reinforced by the Venetians in the XVIIIth century. The fortress on the Peloponnesian coast was called Castello di Morea (as the Peloponnese was named during the Venetian conquest), while the fortress on the opposite side of the narrows was called Castello di Rumelia (a synonym for Europe, deriving from the association made by the Arabs between Rome and Europe). Today they are called Castle of Rion (Morea) and Castle of Antirion (Rumelia).

tolis68, azaf1, steliosk, ifanik marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
Viewed: 1984
Points: 12
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by GEORGE LABROPOULOS (labro33) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 414 W: 0 N: 383] (2807)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH