Fotos

Photographer's Note

Photo taken after Marathon race in Athens three years ago on Stoa of Attalos.
The Stoa of Attalos or Attalus located in the east side of archaeological site of the Ancient Agora in Athens just oposite the Adrianou street in Monastiraki. The Stoa of Attalos was built around 150 BC, by Attalos II, King of Pergamos as a donation to Athens. The construction of the building began in 159 BC and ended in 138 BC. The building was the largest in length in Greece during the antiquity. It was rebuilt in the same style and shape from 1953 to 1956 by the American School of Archaeology with funding from JD. Rockefeller and now houses the Museum of Ancient Agora in Athens.

Typical of Hellenistic art, the stoa is a large-scale building. It has two floors: the ground floor belongs to the Doric style and the first floor to the Ionic style, the two levels are connected by two staircases located at the ends of the building.

The walls are made of limestone, the facade from marble of Penteli and the roof is covered with tiles.
The stoa during the antiquity had shops that where leased by the State of Athens. It was therefore an ancient shopping mall but also a place of sociability where citizens use to gather and discuss while sheltering from the sun during the summer and the cold in the winter.
In the stoa of Attalos was signed the Treaty of the European Union enlargement in 2003.

Nobody marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
Viewed: 1741
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Arkadiusz Dudzinski (aristo) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 154 W: 0 N: 263] (3214)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH