Fotos

Photographer's Note

The abbey of the Mont Saint-Éloi near Arras, based by Saint Vindicien, destroyed in 1793, sheltered a community of regular canons exercising an important literary activity (Dom Walter wrote the chronicles of it in 1786). The vestiges of the abbey church " are classified in conformance with ancient memorials ", by order of June 8th, 1921.there are only both towers of the west wall today. These towers counted originally five floors, reaching 53 meters hight. The abbey having served as no observation during the Great War, it undergoes bombardments which destroyed the last floor, returning the height of the building to 44 meters. If the first two floors are built in stoneware, both made of " white stone " chalk, plentiful in the region.

Nobody marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
Viewed: 1392
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Eric Lecocq (el7262) (32)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH