Fotos

Photographer's Note

The bridge Georges V:
The old bridge of the Turrets builds in 1120 threatened to collapse, it was replaced by the current bridge renamed "Pont Royal" whose work started in 1751 until 1763.
In 1914, the bridge is renamed "Bridge George V". In 1940 part of the bridge is destroyed by the French Army in order to slow down the projection of the German army.
Under the occupation a provisional metal bridge was installed to connect banks of the city. But in the release of Orleans, the German army destroyed the bridge on August 16 1944. The rebuilding begins on September 1 1945, and circulation is definitively restored on January 4 1947.

supereira, nwoehnl, mortijo, Albrecht, Tue, Galmeida, PLD_images marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
Viewed: 2297
Points: 36
Discussions
Additional Photos by Didi Massoud (Didi) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 8657 W: 4411 N: 15286] (61589)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH