Fotos

Photographer's Note

Chapelle Saint-Antoine, common Plouezoc'h

Plouezoc'h is a commune in the department of Finistère in Brittany, France.

Dedicated to St. Anthony the Hermit, father of the order of "Antoninus", the chapel dates from the late thirteenth century.
It is also located at the crossroads of two important ways from the Middle Ages and is mentioned since 1428.
The bell, which sounds even now every pardon has been redesigned in 1545 following an accident. The choir and the beautiful carved woodwork, unfortunately in poor condition or nearly sacked, have been made in 1571. The chapel was then in its present form of a Latin cross. The porch dates from the same era, which was completely damaged, has recently been rebuilt exactly.
The ordeal in the enclosure was erected in 1757.
All the great noble families of the country participated, not without strife, life and maintenance of the chapel.
Abandoned and dilapidated, the chapel gradually found its former glory with the help of a particular Association "Friends of the Chapel of St. Anthony. Eel and can be reused today for worship and cultural activities, concerts and exhibitions.

Photo Information
Viewed: 1367
Points: 30
Discussions
Additional Photos by Valerie Leconte (Leconte) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 716 W: 58 N: 1031] (5795)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH