Fotos

Photographer's Note

Orangerie is situated under the "parterre du midi", created by Louis Le Vau (1612 – 1670, French Classical architect) in 1663, and later it was transformed by Jules Hardouin-Mansart (1646 – 1708) in between 1683 and 1686. It forms a set with its parterre in front and framed by the staircase of a hundred steps on the both sides. During the winter, the château’s Orangerie, which faces almost perfectly in the direction of south, stores more than one thousand orange trees in the wooden boxes. And from May to October, they are taken outdoors in the lower Parterre next to the Swiss pond.
At first orange was introduced in Europe by the 15th and 16t centuries. Since they were such expensive commodity, some of the old documents indicate precisely how many orange slices each visiting guest could consume.
The recent restoration of the parterre in front of the orangerie was recreatd according to the original plan drawn by André Le Nôtre (1613 – 1700, French landscape architect), which disappeared by the 19th century.

delpeoples, chanteuse, danos, ingvar, yanastallerova, lakshmip1949 marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
Viewed: 3412
Points: 18
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Nobu Nobudy (nobuikehonda) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 838 W: 66 N: 1256] (3848)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH