Forums


Go Back   The TrekEarth Forums >

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-14-2004, 01:42 PM
Jan100's Avatar
Jan100 Jan100 is offline
TE Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21
Default ISO 100 ?

I am a bit concern to buy a certian ditital camera because it hasnt got a ISO 100 setting, and as far as I know its quite important to be able to use it in very bright conditions. Please could someone give me some advice on this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2004, 02:37 PM
Darren's Avatar
Darren Darren is offline
TE Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 854
Default Re: ISO 100 ?

Hi Jannie. I assume you are either buying a Nikon D70, D100, or a Pentax *istD as these three cameras all use the same sensor and all have a minimum ISO setting of 200. I have the Pentax, and have not been bothered in the lest by the settings. I guess if you want to shoot a waterfall in the middle of a bright day, you might not get the shutter speeds you want, but then again, shooting a waterfall during a bright day is not going to look good anyways. I have never been bothered by the lack of 100ISO and haven't missed it in the least. I do carry a neutral density filter in my camera bag, this can help to slow down your shutter if it is too bright to get the effect you want. Personally, I have not had to use that yet either, although there will be times it becomes necessary. Really, I have not missed it in the least.

This is going to sound strange and I know it doesn't make any logical sense, but I like the fact that my camera doesn't have ISO 100. I am the type of guy who will always want the best quality, and if my camera were to have the ISO 100, I would automatically shoot most of my shots at that speed. This would in reality mean that I would in many cases get more camera shake or subject movement than with iso200, and subsequently poorer, not better photos. The ISO 200 is a nice little buffer for someone such as myself. Not to mention that I get far less noise/grain at ISO200 with digital than I ever did shooting Provia 100F, which is a very fine grained slide film.

Good luck on your choice.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2004, 09:39 PM
Jan100's Avatar
Jan100 Jan100 is offline
TE Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 21
Default Re: ISO 100 ?

Hi Darren

Yes I was talking about the Nikon D70, and thank you for your advice it helped alot.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2004, 07:07 AM
nmess's Avatar
nmess nmess is offline
TE Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 421
Default Re: ISO 100 ?

I've been using a D100 for about the last year and the ISO 200 hasn't been an issue for me either. Like yourself had wondered, but I find the camera quite friendly in bright light conditions.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2004, 09:20 AM
henrye's Avatar
henrye henrye is offline
TE Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 37
Default Re: ISO 100 ?

Yes, just to confirm what was said above... I also use a Nikon D100, and the fact that it only goes to ISO 200 has never bothered me one bit.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:27 PM.



Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.
explore TREKEARTH