Fotos

Photographer's Note

Old rail car converted to a building in the ghost town of Rhyolite, Nevada.

The story of Rhyolite is much like any other ghost town. Gold was found in 1904 by prospectors Shorty Harris and E. L. Cross. This touched off the Nevada gold rush of 1904. Miners, merchants, and ladies of the evening flocked to the mines and a grand town was laid out. The town boasted a three story bank, a stock exchange, hotels, stores, a hospital, a school for 250 children, even an ice plant making possible the first ice cream parlor in the state. Within three years they built two electricity plants and its mills were processing over 300 tons of ore a day.

The financial panic of 1907 started a downturn in business and was followed by decreased production over the next few years. 1911 saw the closing of the town's largest mine and in 1916, the town nearly dead, electricity was turned off for the last time.

Since then the town has decayed and fallen apart. The old rail station is one of the few complete buildings left. Ruins of many buildings can be seen but desert brush has reclaimed most of the town. The town was briefly occupied by an art commune and some of their works can be seen sprinkled through the area. Today the area is a mixture of public and private lands and open to visitors.

Photo Information
Viewed: 2692
Points: 26
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ian Crockett (IRCrockett) Silver Note Writer [C: 4 W: 0 N: 46] (200)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH