Fotos

Photographer's Note

Once upon a time the Grand Trunk railway was the master of the place. It was back in the years 1856 to 1879 and built a little railway station at the place named Charny Curve somewhere in the curve at left.

Then the line from Charny to Rivière-du-Loup was sold to the Intercolonial Railway (ICR) (1879). The ICR built its own railway station with a typical architecture: a bull’s eye on the upper wall near the roof. ICR built 4 similar railway stations on the Charny to Rivière-du-Loup Line: Charny, Saint-Philippe-de-Néri, Montmagny and Rivière-du-Loup. All of them except Montmagny railway station were demolished.

This modern and functional railway station was built in the 1980 in replacement of the old ICR station posted in the workshop.

pierrefonds marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
Viewed: 2806
Points: 8
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Jean Pierre Forest (FORJP001) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 598 W: 80 N: 913] (3819)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH