Fotos

Photographer's Note



This is a view of Ortaköy Mosque from the ferry on our way back home. The ferry was moving and gently rocking which gave rise to some motion blur.

The official name for Ortaköy Mosque is the Büyük Mecidiye Camii (Grand Imperial Mosque of Sultan Abdülmecid). The original mosque was built in the 18th century. The current mosque, which was erected in its place, was ordered by the Ottoman sultan Abdülmecid and built between 1854 and 1856. Its architects were Armenian father and son Garabet Amira Balyan and Nigoğayos Balyan, who designed it in the neo-baroque style.

Within the mosque hang several examples of Islamic calligraphy executed by Sultan Abdülmecid himself, who was also a hattat (master calligrapher).


Ortaköy Camii

Bu eve dönerken Ortaköy Camii'nin vapurdan görünümüdür. Vapur hareket etmişti ve yavaşça sallanıyordu ki biraz hareket bulanıklığına yol açtı.

Ortaköy Camii’nin resmi adı Büyük Mecidiye Camiidir. Orijinal cami 18. yüzyılda inşa edilmiştir. Yerine yapılan şimdiki cami Osmanlı padişahı Abdülmecid’in emriyle 1854 ve 1856 arasında inşa edilmiştir. Mimarları onu neo-barok stilinde planlayan Ermeni baba ve oğul Garabet Amira Balyan ve Nigoğayos Balyan idi.

Caminin içinde de kendisi bir hattat olan Sultan Abdülmecid tarafından gerçekleştirilmiş İslam hat sanatının çeşitli örnekleri asılıdır.

Photo Information
Viewed: 1815
Points: 34
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Murat Tanyel (mcmtanyel) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 7080 W: 300 N: 15270] (57463)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH