Fotos

Photographer's Note

Compared to most of the other streets in Stockholm's Gamla Stan, Prästgatan street is almost totally free from shops and other tourist attractions. That gives the street a sense of old times. Prästgatan has the same line where the first town wall was situated. When the role of the wall was over, parts of the wall were built with houses.

The street was given its name in reference to the residences of three chaplains and a bell-ringer built there during the 16th century, the four small buildings were demolished in 1708 to give room to the parsonage still present. As the parsons of Tyska Kyrkan ("The German Church") were housed near the street, the southern part of it was called Tyska Prästgatan ("The German Priest's Street") from the mid-18th to the mid-19th century while the northern part was called Svenska Prästgatan ("The Swedish Priest's Street"). The name revision of 1885, resulted in the name Prästgatan being used for the street's northern and southern extensions as well.

(From different sources)

There are other uploads from Prästgatan in TE, but perhaps not from this POV and at this time of day. :-)

Geocode: 59.324000,18.070879

holmertz, Buin, saxo042, JudyR, jhm, papagolf21, Cretense, Clementi, Fellini, fulvio52, stego marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
Viewed: 2534
Points: 50
Discussions
Additional Photos by Lasse Lofstrom (ellelloo) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 471 W: 15 N: 1589] (6572)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH