Fotos

Photographer's Note

Monastery of Samos was built in the sixth century.
From the XI century also a hospital for the pilgrims of the Way of St James. Samos monastery has suffered many terrible fires and has been plundered on many occasions throughout its troubled history. At the beginning of the nineteenth century it was converted into a Benedictine site.

A orillas del río Ouribio se levanta el antiguo monasterio de San Julián de Samos, todavía regido por monjes benedictinos,
En 1558 sufrió un gran incendio y tuvo que ser rehecho. De las construcciones medievales únicamente se conserva una puerta de la antigua iglesia, la capilla del Salvador, una columna y un fragmento de una placa de mármol del siglo IX.
El documento más antiguo que se conserva de la estancia de peregrinos en el hospital construido dentro del propio monasterio es del s. XI .

Elaine_Blath, Philippe, josepmarin, plimrn, alainh marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
Viewed: 1314
Points: 30
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Krystyna Zofia (krysia) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 360 W: 27 N: 258] (4222)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH