Fotos

Photographer's Note

Old town - Trinitarian Tower also known as the Gate of Trinitarian, was part of the buildings of the Jesuit college. In the beginning was the only wicket monastery. To walk to the cathedral, or school, everyone had to pass a gate. In 1627 it was raised and allocated at the bell towers. After the suppression of the Jesuits passed to oo. Trinitarian. Although the building briefly belonged to the monks, from now began to be called Trinitarian Tower. The next owner of the object has become a city. In the nineteenth century., Along with the cathedral was rebuilt. Antoni Corazzi designed it in a neo-Gothic style. During World War II was heavily damaged. In the years 1945-1952 was rebuilt tower.

Lublin is the ninth largest city in Poland and the second largest city of Lesser Poland. It is the capital and the center of Lublin Voivodeship. Lublin is the largest Polish city east of the Vistula River, and is located approximately 170 kilometres to the southeast of Warsaw.
Lublin, until the partitions at the end of the 18th century, was a royal city of the Crown Kingdom of Poland. Its delegates and nobles had the right to participate in the Royal Election. In 1578 Lublin was chosen as the seat of the Crown Tribunal, the highest appeal court in the Polish–Lithuanian Commonwealth and for centuries the city has been flourishing as a centre of culture and higher learning, together with Kraków, Warsaw and Lviv.
Although Lublin was not spared from severe destruction during World War II, its picturesque and historical Old Town has been preserved. The district is one of Poland's official national Historic Monuments.

pajaran, snunney, alvaraalto, pierrefonds, jhm, mehrdad-t, PiotrF marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
Viewed: 426
Points: 28
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Krzysztof Dera (Fis2) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 7939 W: 157 N: 12214] (110753)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH