Fotos

Photographer's Note

BASILICA SAINT WILLIBRORD Shortly after l' year 700, Willibrord made set up here the first church located under the central nave " of l' current basilica "
, the vestiges of this construction mérovingienne, 21 m length, were updated after the second world war, a second church, were set up towards 800, was of size close to those d' aujourd' today, after a devastating fire in l' year 1016, the new building was completed in 1031.
The principal characteristic of this Romance basilica is l' alternation of the pillars and the columns which was copied later in the Rhineland. 1794: after plundering by the French revolutionary troops, the basilica was transformed into faience manufacture. From 1861, l' association “Willibrordus Bauverein” proposed the rebuilding of the monument and " chose a restoration of the neogothic building in style "

and néo Romance, destruction lasting l' German offensive in 1944, rebuilding of 1948 to 1953, the crypt would go back to l' Carolingian time; the frescos date from the 14th century

Photo Information
Viewed: 3746
Points: 56
Discussions
Additional Photos by dominique france (kermit350) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1478 W: 161 N: 1976] (9016)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH