Fotos

Photographer's Note

Between 1539 and 1545, the double house "Zum Rechen" ( House of the Rake) was built by Joachim Schiller of Herdern. It was then joined to the next door "Haus zum Phönix" (House of the Phoenix) between 1578-1581.

The house served as the main building of the University until 1774, when it became the seat for Anatomy ("Theatrum Anatomicum").

The building has been used as a general out-patient clinic since 1868. The renovation of the "Neuen Rathaus" ,which led to its present shape, first took place between 1896 until 1901.

The building's splendid exterior is given its tone through two-story outside corner orials. These are complete with lavish ornaments and copper roofs. The small bell tower on the roof of the main hall contains a carillon from the Welte Firm which rings each day at noon.

All of the inner rooms are designed in Late Gothic and Renaissance styles. The old Ratsaal (Counsel Hall) is artistically paneled in maple and oak. The vaulted oak ceiling contains painted, oak-framed friezes. The south wing is home to one of Freiburg's most beautiful remaining Baroque rooms. The former University hall is decorated with numerous stucco figure reliefs and ceiling border work.

Nobody marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
Viewed: 2114
Points: 8
Discussions
Additional Photos by Anna Frosio (Anna--) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 577 W: 87 N: 381] (7801)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH