Photographer's Note

The Karbis are the principal tribal community in the Karbi Anglong district of Assam, a district administered as per the provisions of the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution of India, having an autonomous district of their own since 17 November, 1951. Besides Karbi Anglong district, the Karbi inhabited ares include North Cachar Hills, Kamrup, Marigaon district, Nagaon, Golaghat, Karimganj and Sonitpur districts of Assam; Balijan circle of Papumpare district in Arunachal Pradesh, Jaintia Hills, Ri Bhoi and East Khasi Hills districts in Meghalaya and Dimapur District in Nagaland. Apart from Assam, the Karbis are also recognised as Scheduled Tribes in Meghalaya, Mizoram and Nagaland. With a population of around 460,000 as per 2001 Census, the Karbis constitutes the third largest tribal community in Assam after the Bodos and the Mishings

lestans marcou esta nota como útil

Photo Information
Viewed: 10787
Points: 0
  • None
Additional Photos by yuval naaman (kogawa) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 85 W: 107 N: 470] (4604)
View More Pictures